Yuma County Hospital District #1

The Hospital District #1 of Yuma County is a public agency which owns the property where Yuma Regional Medical Center sits. It leases the hospital campus to YRMC, a private non-profit corporation, to provide hospital care to the Yuma and surrounding communities.

The District, which was established in 1956, includes all of Yuma County except a small area near Hyder. While the District has the authority to collect tax, no tax has ever been collected. YRMC relies solely on patient revenues for funding.

A five-member board elected at-large by popular vote governs the District. The purpose is to provide for the operation and maintenance of hospital facilities and assure it operates in the best interest of the residents of the District. The Hospital District meets the second Wednesday of the month in the Board Room on the main hospital campus. The agenda is posted 24 hours prior to the meeting pursuant to Open Meeting Law. You may contact the Secretary of the Board, Serena Holthaus, for further information at

District Board Members:

John Minore
Board Chairman

Rick Dinsmore

Jeremy Curry, MD

Tom Thompson
Board Member

Jeffrey Polston
Board Member

Explore Further

Our not-for-profit hospital is staffed by employees, medical practitioners and volunteers who are dedicated to serving the residents and visitors of Yuma and the surrounding area.

We are proud of the dynamic, committed and innovative members of our executive leadership team who remain focused on our primary value of patients always come first.

As a true community hospital, Yuma Regional Medical Center is guided by two boards made up of community members.

increase or decrease font size print page